New Church Checklist (How people really judge churches)

Deacon: Usher, what do you think people really look for when they’re choosing a new church?

Usher: The real list or the lip-service list?

Deacon: The real one, of course.

Usher: From what I can gather, here’s the list:

1. Kid’s programs (Sunday School, VBS, youth groups, mission trips)

2. Worship quality and preference (contemporary or traditional / AV quality and crew)

3. Daycare

4. Facilities (gym, meeting space, location)

5. Parking

6. Distance from home – driving time?

7. Preaching quality (Is he funny, smart, punctual and non-condemning?)

8. Coffee and fellowship food quality

9. Are the people friendly?

10: Age of people – are they “our generation”?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “New Church Checklist (How people really judge churches)”

  1. Mark R Says:

    Or what it (The Church) can offer me not what I can offer it – great post!!! I’m really glad I found this site.

  2. Christian Beyer Says:

    Interesting list. We just switched churches and one of the main reasons was number 6; 7 miles versus 22 miles.

    But as I was sitting in church this past Sunday and noticed all the old fogies ( at 49 I am one of the ‘young’ ones) I began to wonder if this (very progressive) church was too ‘old’ for me. And then an elderly couple invited us to lunch at their home in a nearby retirement community.

    Well, talk about young at heart. What wonderfully refreshing, unrestrained people. I can’t help but wonder of the perfect timing. We’re staying.

  3. ipresson Says:

    Hebrews 10:25
    Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

    I would agree that many times people (myself included) look at the superficial when selecting a church. That, however, is a necessary evil, because you must start somewhere! I cannot know if I am joining a body of believers focused on eternal rewards until I have become comfortable in their environment, and I do not find it “wrong” that I would begin by looking for a church that meets my comfort zone.

    God’s church has nothing to do with programs or walls or any of that; as if we could ever harness His power and grace with structures of men! Fellowship is imperative to a strong Christian life, and there is nothing wrong with finding that fellowship within four walls as long as you are also focused on the big picture God has to offer…wouldn’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

